Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Award

We are delighted to announce that nominations for the Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Award 2016-17 are now open.

The Award is in its fifth year and celebrates inspirational teaching at NTU, with the attributes of an inspirational teacher developed out of consultation with the NTU community.

The nominations received will be considered by a selection panel, which is co-chaired by the Senior Pro-Vice Chancellor and NTSU President.

From this year's nominees two colleagues will also be selected to receive the Vice-Chancellor's Outstanding Teacher Award. The winners of this award will embody distinguished teaching and learning, as either an early career or established teacher.

Each winner will receive £2,000 to use for professional development, and will be presented with their award at graduation. 

The deadline for submission of nominations and supporting evidence is 12 December 2016. All documentation should be submitted by email by this deadline.

If you have any queries about the award please contact TILT on +44 (0)115 848 4375.

Download the Call for Nominations document 2016-17 PDF icon for further information about the award criteria.

This award has been won previously by:


  • Doreen Connor (EDU)
  • Sarah Davies (EDU)
  • Ronan Fitzsimons (AAH)
  • Pamela Henderson (NLS)
  • Dr James Hind (SST)
  • Nicky-Jane Kerr-Gilbert (EDU)
  • Andrew O'Hagan (SST)
  • Dr Chris Reynolds (AAH)


  • Rachael Blazewicz-Bell (EDU)
  • Jo Boylan-Kemp (NLS)
  • Dr Ben Clutterbuck (ARES)
  • Justine Davidson (A&D)
  • Catherine Gripton (EDU)
  • Nick Prior (ADBE)


  • Dr Matthew Ashton (SSS)
  • Victoria Brown (EDU)
  • Alan Crisp (ADBE)
  • Tina Downes (A&D)
  • Dr David Fairhurst (SST)
  • Dr Michael Loughlin (SST)
  • Dr Nicholas Morton (AAH)
  • Anthony Ward (ADBE)


  • Professor Robert Ackrill (NBS)
  • Jane Challinor (SSS)
  • Dr Tony Harris (EDU)
  • Rowena Hill (SSS)
  • Dr Chris Royle (ARES)
  • Dr Graham Sharpe (SST)
TILT logo
Nick Prior
Justine Davidson at an ALTC event
Rachael Blazewicz-Bell
David Fairhurst
Tina Downes