The Athena SWAN Charter recognises the advancement of gender equality in higher education institutions and was expanded in 2015 to include all academic subject areas, professional and support staff, and trans staff and students.

The University became a member of the new charter in 2015, committing to Athena SWAN’s 10 key principles. By doing so, NTU is clearly demonstrating its commitment to gender equality and to adopting these principles within its policies, practices, action plans and culture. The University will be applying for its first Athena SWAN bronze institutional award in April 2017.

In early 2016, NTU established an Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT), chaired by Professor Yvonne Barnett. The SAT will drive the reflective analysis required during the application process and oversee the development of a corresponding four-year action plan. Throughout the self-assessment, we will be consulting staff and students to gather views and gain valuable insight into the experiences of those working and studying at NTU.

If you are interested in being involved in any of our focus groups, or would like to find out more about Athena SWAN at NTU, please contact Cathy Marshall, our Athena SWAN operational lead.

Athena SWAN Member logo